2019 Triple Crown Nominations Facts and Trivia

RSS feed Print email to a friend
12:37 pm

Trainer Steve Asmussen leads all trainers with 27 nominations. In second place are Bob Baffert, Chad Brown and Todd Pletcher, each with 17 nominees.

Brad Kelley’s Calumet Farm leads all owners with 13 nominations and is tied with Charles Fipke and Godolphin for the most nominees among breeders with six apiece.

For the third straight year, Tapit was the leading sire with 19 offspring nominated. Into Mischief was next with 15, and he was followed by Curlin (13), Cairo Prince (11) and Uncle Mo (11).

Four fillies were nominated, including champion 2-year-old filly and Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies winner Jaywalk and multiple Grade I-winner Bellafina.

The nominees also include 20 horses based outside North America, including 11 from Europe, five from Dubai and four from Japan. Irish-based trainer Aidan O’Brien and the Coolmore group nominated seven, including graded stakes-winning sons of Scat Daddy, Sergei Prokofiev and Van Beethoven.

Notable horses not nominated to this year’s Triple Crown include Champagne winner Complexity and Saratoga Special and Swale winner Call Paul.

Horses not nominated to the Triple Crown during the early phase can be made eligible at www.thetriplecrown.com for $6,000 during the late nomination period which continues through April 1. If not nominated by that date, horses can become eligible through payment of a supplemental nomination fee due at the time of entry for either the Kentucky Derby ($200,000), Preakness ($150,000) or Belmont ($50,000).

Thirteen horses have swept the Triple Crown series: Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977), Affirmed (1978), American Pharoah (2015) and Justify (2018).